Actors Who Would Have Made 127 Hours a Very Different Viewing Experience

The name of the woman who cast 127 Hours is Donna Isaacson.  When I was doing a janitorial stint at Fox Searchlight two years ago, hers was one of the offices I regularly cleaned.  I didn’t know what that movie was then, so when I found a crumpled hand-written page titled “127 Hours Protagonist Casting Ideas (Outside the Box),” it meant nothing to me.  It wasn’t until I finally Netflixed the movie last week, then did an impulsive comb-through of some of the trash I’d saved from that time, that I realized I had something of value, or at least of interest to me and perhaps others.  This morning I transcribed it (fixing some spelling errors and changing the title); here it is.

Actors Who Would Have Made 127 Hours a Very Different Viewing Experience

Nicholas Cage

Christopher Walken

Arnold Schwarzenegger

Wanda Sykes

Michael Cera

John Travolta

Paul Reubens (Pee Wee Herman)

William H. Macy

Al Pacino

Crispin Glover

Walter Matthau

Gary Coleman

Chris Tucker

Henry Winkler

Antonio Banderas

Morgan Freeman

Robin Williams

Calista Flockhart

Betty White

Eric Roberts

The Rock

Leave a Reply

