Too-Long Haiku

At once too long and haiku.  It’s Too-Long Haiku.

Too-Long Haiku

The voice distant and faint
as if calling from beneath a deep sadness—
but it was possibly just a bad connection.

*     *     *

My love for my wife still surges.
It’s just that, when those others pass in their skirts,
those vaginas are out of reach.

*     *     *

“I’m a vegan.”  “You’re not a vegan.”
“I am.”  “I have seafood.”
Where’s the line between full of shit and bullshittin’?

*     *     *

When my mind changes gears,
I’m jolted into thinking about how I think,
so it’s always two gears at once.

*     *     *

The smell of french fries
and the sound of traffic
invite me to retreat.
Also:  dog balls.

*     *     *

Sometimes I forget who’s who.
It’s not that I don’t recognize you.
I just don’t remember who you are.

*     *     *

Our colleague has no friends
because she wears too much perfume–
but it would take a friend to tell her.

*     *     *

At dessert, he whispered
to his girlfriend.  She play-slapped him;
they thought no one noticed.

*     *     *

Falling backwards at the end of the day
as if it’s all a big pillow:
thoughts sleep in the air.

*     *     *

If my head is on a pillow
and my eyes are open,
someone’s responsible.

*     *     *

The moments we had.
Oh, oh the moments we had.
The moments we had.
Also:  dog balls.

*     *     *

The urge to sabotage
something half-built and pretty
can take the form of adding on, too. 

Leave a Reply

